Thread: New to DSLR: Just bought T4i/650D

Real Name
    James

New to DSLR: Just ordered T4i/650D

Hi all, I am new to photography. With my university graduation coming soon, I pulled the trigger on a T4i/650D today.

The tutorials on this website is very informative. However, I would like to ask a couple of questions.

1. During my hunt for a camera bag, this one seemed very interesting. Case Logic
    What do you think about this bag? Any other recommendations?

2. Since I have only used Sony point-and-shoot so far, I have no experience on using SDHC. Among the dazzling amount of SDHC memory cards available, which would you recommend? Is either of these two good? SanDisk Extreme, Extreme Pro.

Thank you.
    Last edited by blahblah; 12th June 2012 at 05:47 PM.

Real Name
    Eugen

Re: New to DSLR: Just ordered T4i/650D

1. The case is too small. You will have in time more than one lens to carry around plus some extra gadgets.
    2. Whichever gives you the biggest transfer speed.

Real Name
    Al

I have to agree with Eugen regarding the case... it's just too small, and you will outgrow it very quickly.

As for the SDHC cards, SanDisk is, IMO, the best you can get; I never use anything else. Either the Extreme or Extreme Pro are good choices, but which one depends on how much speed you need, and how well the camera can use the card speed (depends on buffer size and speed, so I don't have an answer for this one). Extreme Pro is faster, but more expensive. Both are very reliable. I should mention that some unscrupulous people have been selling cheap, low-quality counterfeit cards, labeled and sold as SanDisk at very low prices... beware of "hot deals" for these cards on-line, since these counterfeits are nowhere near as good as the real thing. As always, buy from a reputable outlet, and be suspicious of hig-quality brand names at "too-low" prices.