Thread: Buyers Guide to Monitors......

Real Name
    Mark

Buyers Guide to Monitors......

My monitor does not seem able to render images as they print or appear on other screens. Its an iiyama Prolite 2400. I've tried to tweak it but it still does not show graduation lines at any brightness/contrast combination.

So I'm in the market for a better monitor. What should I be looking for? I'm not technically up-to-speed on monitors so a shopping list of what it can/should be able to do would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance

Mark

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Buyers Guide to Monitors......

Mark

As you know, the market is huge out there. And I suppose that your budget also informs what sector of that market your going to be looking at.

The best most of us are likely to be able to do to help, is to refer to what we use and our thoughts about that.

Upon recommendations I got on here when I was looking, I have a Viewsonic 2433 (which doesn't seem to be made any more). I had a bit of problem with 'rolling' on it; i.e. there were bands rolling either up or down (the same way as if you look at a monitor appearing in the background on a TV show), but I seem to have managed to fix that. I am very pleased with it.

I think the Viewsonic range are quite popular (there are a few people on here use them) and come in at reasonable price (although 'reasonable' is going to vary for different people).
    Last edited by Donald; 6th March 2012 at 11:07 AM.

Real Name
    Russell

Quote Originally Posted by UKDivemaster View Post
    My monitor does not seem able to render images as they print or appear on other screens. Its an iiyama Prolite 2400. I've tried to tweak it but it still does not show graduation lines at any brightness/contrast combination.

So I'm in the market for a better monitor. What should I be looking for? I'm not technically up-to-speed on monitors so a shopping list of what it can/should be able to do would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance