Thread: Upgrade to a Canon

Real Name
    cynthia angus tonkovich

Upgrade to a Canon

I am a photography student. Began taking classes with a fujifilm compact digital. Images were OK, as you know. Bought a Canon Rebel XS about a year ago and looking to buy an upgrade. The Rebel T3i is getting good reviews from students and prosumers alike. I like the size of it, and all of my lenses will work with it. But is it too close to the Rebel XS or should I go for the 60D or 7D. Really confused. Currently I'm collecting L lenses. 100 mm macro and a 24-70. Any suggestions/advice would be appreciated.

Real Name
    Alex

Re: Upgrade to a Canon

Hi Cindi,

You have been using your camera long enough to know how it performs. I suggest you try and make a list of where it does not perform well for you. Then go through the specifications of the potential cameras and see the features they offer in addition to the camera you have. You can then make up your mind on what camera is right for you.

For example the 7d has a better focus system and viewfinder than the 60d but it does not have a programable limit on auto ISO and no tilting LCD screen. This is just a quick example of differences that may lead to a decision.

If you post up some more info on the type of photography you do and how you feel your camera limits you then people will be happy to give some advice. We have users of all sorts of cameras on this site and people will be happy to help.

As a final word, just be sure you need an upgrade and do not just want one. A new camera may not improve your photography. It may cost you a lot of money to find that out. However a new camera may deliver a significant improvement in usability and performance that is worth spending twice as much as it actually costs.

Regards,

Alex

Real Name
    Eugen

I guess it depends of "how serious" you want to get involved in photography and if you really need some features found in the expensive models.