Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Converting a black and white photo into color

Converting a black and white photo into color

Hello All,

I am a complete newbie here, just joined, whilst searching the net, I've come across this forum, i've seen a tutorial about converting a color photo into black and white. But what I would like to achieve is to convert a black and white photo into color, is this possible or I am asking for the impossible.

I've had a look at the tutorial here on converting color into bw, but wondered if i can use the same method using channel mixer to convert a black and white into color.

Any help, tutorials or tips would be much appreciated.

thanks very much in advance, i wait for any reply in anticipation

regards

helen

Administrator
    Real Name
    Sean

Re: Converting a black and white photo into color

Converting from black and white into color (aka, "colorizing" a b/w image) will always require some interpretive work, primarily because there are many color/hue possibilities that could create a given black and white photo. For some photos this can become quite involved, depending on the number of different objects, the lighting and the original method used to capture the B/W photo in the first place (types of color filters, etc). In short, avoid it if you can!

Perhaps the simplest (although not shortest) way is to manually select each object using the magnetic lasso tool. For each object in the photo, do the following:

(1) Manually select this object (such as a car against a background) using the magnetic lasso tool or whatever else you find easiest
    (2) Copy this object and paste it onto the existing black and white image (so that it remains in exactly the same place)
    (3) Create a new adjustment layer for this object using Layer>New Adjustment Layer>Hue/Saturation
    (4) Once the adj. layer has been created, make sure to check the "Colorize" box on the bottom right of the window