Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PROJECT 52 by Craig (Craig3070)

Real Name
    Craig

PROJECT 52 by Craig (Craig3070)

Hi All.

I am new to CIC and have just got my first DSLR (Nikon D7000). I welcome all feedback on my photos as I am really learning.

Real Name
    Mal

Re: PROJECT 52 by Craig (Craig3070)

The D7000 is my first DSLR and i have to say that I'm more than happy with it.

You've managed to capture some great detail with that bird. However I think I tighter crop is in order to really bring the focus on the bird. my other comments are that there's a twig that crosses in front of the bird and the background behind it is of a similar colour which stops your subject from standing out.

Still a very good capture - especially with the sharpness in the bird itself.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me.

As Malcolm has said, a closer crop is definitely in order and given the size you posted at (probably a non-downsized 4435 x 2937px) you can afford to do this.

I shoot birds and the problem with them in this kind of woodland setting is that against the trees, they often blend in, but if shot against the sky, that often upsets the exposure (unless you compensate - easy with practice), but that then usually 'blows out' the sky which softens and smears the outline. Therefore I usually don't try against the sky these days, I know it's not gonna give a good picture, although it may be handy to take a shot for identification purposes.

Personally (aside from the 'twig in front') I would be happy with this as a capture; you have a well focused, sunlit bird against an 'in shadow' tree trunk, so already three things are in your favour. With some decent PP software and the skill to use it (learnt with practice), this could be enhanced further.