Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Project 52 by Al (snarkbyte)

Real Name
    Al

Project 52 by Al (snarkbyte)

Goals for 2012:
    • Continuing a goal I set for myself last year, improve all aspects of B&W photography: selecting subject best served by B&W interpretation, composition, and post-processing development.
    • Close-up/Macro photography, particularly DoF and lighting skills.
    • Flash and Artificial lighting; this is going to be a big one with lots of reading and experimenation, since I'm a complete newbie in this respect.
    • Obviously, the preceding goals are not mutually exclusive, and it's certainly possible to combine any 2 or all 3 objectives in a single shot.
    That should be more than enough to keep me busy for a year (at least).

Real Name
    Al

Project 52 by Al (snarkbyte) Week 1

B&W Photo:

Artificial Light:

Macro/Close-up: Still TBD, but I'll post it here later this week.

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Project 52 by Al (snarkbyte) Week 1

I do like the abstract sculpture in that final version of black and white you've done. Your macro shot is ironically something that I appreciated most when I zoomed into the shot. My first thoughts were that your subject was too dark and didn't show enough detail. However after I zoomed in I realised the detail is actually there.

Real Name
    Greg

Hi Al,
    Just looked through all this weeks photo's and while I don't have the experience in photography to pass comment on anyone's photo's, your B&W was my favourite.
    Don't know if you are familiar with the Allan Parsons (I Robot) or Pink Floyd (Wish you were Here) albums, but the architecture of this building made me think of them as soon as I saw it.
    Great shot.
    PS, what and where is the building
    Greg

Real Name
    Sam Smith, I have photo ID

It #1 for me AL. I always wounder what the designer was thinking when they come up with them, I like the way you captured it and the conversion isn't bad at all.

Real Name
    Al