Thread: Night shoot

Real Name
    Bob Murphy

Night shoot

I decided I'm gonna go out and get some night shots of a bridge. Any advice is welcome.

Real Name
    Scott Benz

Re: Night shoot

They are so dark I can't even see them. Lol.

No pic was posted. Check out this thread and give it another go!

HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?

Real Name
    Bob Murphy
    Just got back from taking a few shots. Gonna work on getting them processed and I'll have them up as soon as possible.

Real Name
    Robert Farkas

I'm no expert by any means, however in my experience:

Mind the lights. If you're shooting a small scene, the street lights and lamps may provide you enough illumination and make for a good exposure without having to leave the shutter open for long. For larger objects like buildings (or a bridge) you may have to cope with a mix of well lit, and not-so-well lit coverage, so be sure to set your metering to match what you're trying to accomplish with the shot; don't just meter the entire scene and cross your fingers, get some spot or center-weighted shots in there.

Low light does not mean high ISO.

Goes without saying that you'll be using a tripod, or other reliable means to ensure the camera is steady during the exposure.

Suggest you use your camera's timer / delay if you're pressing the shutter button manually, or don't have a cable or remote in your bag (plus I actually hold my breath while the shutter's open, go figure).

I'm sure you've read to turn off your camera's steady shot / stabilization when you're tripod mounted, however I'm not sure the technology hasn't improved enough that that suggestion can be retired. Will be curious to hear if on or off you notice any difference (I don't bother disabling anything that compensates for vibration).