Thread: just learning....

Real Name
    Ian

just learning....

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to photography, I captured this by chance one morning on my way to work, shot it in B&W with no processing, would be intrested in receiving feedback from any experienced photographers about its composition, changes or tips for future photos.....

just learning....

Many thanks

Real Name
    Chris

Re: just learning....

I rotated the image so the horizon line (red) is parallel to the bottom of the frame, then did a reset of your black and white points. From the crop grid, you might want to consider a 16:9 crop ratio. This is just a start but I found the absolute blacks too heavy and absolute whites too stark against a wonderful set of grays.

I would likely crop out the grass at the bottom of the frame, either by crop or clone before I set the 16 x 9 crop.

just learning....

Real Name
    Ian

Hi MiniChris,

thank you for your feedback, is that CS5 your using? I haven't got a processing software as yet. I've made some change re you suggestion below, any better?

just learning....

Thanks

Real Name
    Mark

Ian nice image well composed, yes the grass needed to go but with this edit youve muted it too much i preferred the hard contrast of the as shot version, this edit take the emphasis of the lake leading the eye to the distance away. and in my opinion ruins what was a very good picture, well done on the capture.

Real Name
    Ian

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your comments. i've returned it to its original state - minus the grass! I do like the contrast of the starker colours.....

just learning....

Real Name
    Chris

It is CS5...without editing software it stand up pretty good onits own, but would greatly benefit not to have those blacks so dense. You should have first done a crop edit which removed the grass, then recropped to the 16/9. I think it has too much sky in this version.

You can download GIMP for free.

rob marshall