Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Newbie's first try...Be gentle

Real Name
    Marc Laubscher

Newbie's first try...Be gentle

Good Day Guys and Ladies.

I registered today and was wondering when would be a good time to break the ice by posting my first picture here. That's when I realised there is no better time than right now, so here we go with one of my first posts on nature and architecture...

Critics...Start your engines, please!

Last edited by MLaubscher; 14th December 2011 at 07:49 PM. Reason: Fixing typo's

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Newbie's first try...Be gentle

I remember how daunting my first post was on here And it wasn't that long ago so take my comments with a grain of salt as I'm still learning and landscapes and architecture aren't familiar ground for me.

I had a couple of thoughts so:

- I think your depth of field is too shallow or your focus point is too much in the foreground. The fence dominates the front area and leads you up to the background but loses definition as your eye gets drawn up. More detail in the background would add to the image overall.
    - When my eye reaches the background there's a structure (out of focus) that draws my attention away from the rest of the picture. For me it unbalances the image overall with all of the empty grass space on the left. Perhaps a different angle?
    - The image seems a little underexposed to me.

I'm sure you'll get feedback from more qualified photographers shortly Hope this helps and keep them coming!

Real Name
    Toņo

Welcome to the forum!

I agree with Malcolm. Most of the image is out of focus. Go for a wider DOF and IMO shoot from a different angle. I think you should take the picture from a lower position.

Is it possible for you to try again at the same location?

Toņo

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves