Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Playing Around At The Beach

Real Name
    Mal

Playing Around At The Beach

Took the kids down to the beach just to see what I could do. Wouldn't mind some feedback on this one.

Cheers.

Last edited by Goldcoastgolfer; 29th November 2011 at 12:54 AM.

Real Name
    Mark

Re: Playing Around At The Beach

Hi Malcom, Love the composition generally and this has the potential to be a good one, maybe a tighter crop? im not very good at PP im still learning, the image seems a little misty or bland, is that the look your after? maybe alittle more vibrance, contrast, sharpening and crop out a little of the top and left side.

Great image, well done, im sure the others will be here to help soon

Real Name
    Rob Douglas
    Cropping the top right at where the reflection starts would give the foreground a little more attention IMO. Could be a bit sharper and the silhouette of the girl a bit darker. That's a good capture & with a touch of PP a great one for the wall, nice work.

That is a tricky one, Malcolm; like all shots into the sun.

I agree with a crop but I would go further than Mark.

Crop the top to remove that strip of brightness which extends to the left. Crop fairly tight to the figure on the right side. Crop the bottom for balance, probably somewhere around the shadow neck area. And if necessary, crop whatever is needed from the left side.

I suspect this might end up as a 5 x 4 ratio.

If there was a little more detail in the bright areas I think this shot would have worked well as it is now.

Possibly try darkening the shadows but I rather like the existing slight golden brown tint. Maybe a little darkening of the brighter 'flared' areas but there is a risk that this would then seem artificial

Sharpening is something which I thought about but this would probably increase the halo effect around the child's body.

So I think I would try the tighter crop first; and possibly stick with that.