Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sigma 150-500mm f/5.6-6.3 DG HSM OS Lens

Real Name
    Peter Hilton

Sigma 150-500mm f/5.6-6.3 DG HSM OS Lens

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to DSLR and my main interest is birding. I spend many hours in the "hide" at my local bird club and use a Nikon D90 with a 70-300 nikon lens. Whilst this is a great lens and terrific whilst I am walking I think I would like the extra reach of the Sigma 150-500mm f/5.6-6.3 DG HSM OS.

One problem at our bird club is that we are not allowed to leave the hide in order to get closer to the targets. The area between the hide and the waters edge is a site of special scientific interest so when the water level in the reservoir drops the waders can move some distance from the hide

I am a relatively big guy so carrying this camera and lens for a couple of hours walking should not be too much of a problem and I think the lens would be good when I am sat down.

When I am out either walking or in the hide I only take one lens with me. I prefer to be mobile rather than having to carry mountains of gear with me.

What does everyone think of this lens? Will it be suitable for my needs? Will all of its functions work with a D90?

For obvious reasons I would prefer a Nikon prime or telephoto lens but the budget will not stretch far enough for a lens of this length.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Sigma 150-500mm f/5.6-6.3 DG HSM OS Lens

Hello

Firstly, and apologies if someone has already said it, but you've maybe seen that most of us tend to use our real names on here. It makes communication more friendly and CiC is that sort of site. Did you know you can go to Edit Profile and enter your proper name under 'Real Name'. Then it will appear underneath your Username in all your posts. You can also enter your location so that it does the same, just as in my details alongside this message. Then we all know where everyone is in the world.

Secondly - that lens.