Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Removing pattern from shooting through a cage (e.g. in a zoo)

Real Name
    Alex

Removing pattern from shooting through a cage (e.g. in a zoo)

Hi,

I have a few shots taken at a zoo through a cage or wire mesh. I know that to get around this you can open up the aperture as much as possible and stand close to the mesh. However it still affects the final image. Here's an example of a colorful pheasant where you can see the mesh effect on the background:

Given that the mesh is a repeating pattern is it possible to remove it? For example I thought some sort of filter in Fourier space might be possible where the specific frequency that the mesh is at could be removed. A quick Google search found that this can be done using a Notch or band-stop filter although I have no experience of how to do it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Alex

Re: Removing pattern from shooting through a cage (e.g. in a zoo)

But with a background like that I'm not sure the 'pattern' would be recognisable.

My first thought would be to go over the background with a blur brush. Try varying the brush size and opacity to suit.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Alex, the mesh is so slight that it really doesn't distract the eye away from the subject. On the other hand, if the original contains the feet and tail, I would love to see more of this fascinating bird!

I too have been frustrated at getting clear shots where there is mesh between the camera and the subject so if there is a solution for that problem, I'd love to find out what it is!

Real Name
    Alex

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post
    My first thought would be to go over the background with a blur brush. Try varying the brush size and opacity to suit.
    Hi Geoff,

Thanks for pointing out a much easier solution. I'll try some brush blurring and see how it looks.

Quote Originally Posted by FrankMi View Post