Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gravestone images, B&W

Real Name
    Lexie

gravestone images, B&W

hi everyone,
    this is my first thread, so please be patient if I get something wrong, like only attaching a thumbnail instead of the big picture .

I'm studying photography at the moment and my assignemnt for this week is B&W. This picture was taken in colour and converted to B&W in photoshop, (this is quite tightly cropped from the original too). I did this before I had done much research about the most effective methods of converting to B&W, so was really just trying different settings in the RAW window of Photoshop. (PS and I are not friends, but that's a whole 'nother story)

gravestone images, B&W

All comments and suggestions for improvement gratefully received.

thanks,
    Lexie

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: gravestone images, B&W

Hi Lexie,

Well done on getting the image uploaded and inserted -- you're one of only a handful who have managed to do that first time!

The image itself - to me - looks like a technically competent capture (although it needs a touch of output sharpening) (in Photoshop - on the down-sized image - click on filters -> Sharpening -> unsharp mask. Dial in 50% and 0.3 pixel, and toggle preview (whilst looking at it at 100%) and look at the difference). If on the off chance it makes the gravel and/or trees too frosty just let me know, and I'll show you how to fix that too).

As for the image itself - not something I'd shoot personally, so a little hard for me to comment on that kind of topic / composition, but perhaps a subtle vignette to draw the eye more towards the monument? (? -> lens correction -> right-hand tab, at the bottom) (sorry, don't thave Photoshop handy just at the moment).

Hope this helps

Real Name
    Lexie

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    Hi Lexie,