Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: New member seeking advice on Bridge Camera

Real Name
    PJ

Re: NEW MEMBER? please introduce yourself here

Good evening to all,

My name Paul and I live in Oxford UK, I will admit I'm a novice when it comes to photography at the moment but I am keen to learn, which is why I have become a member here (recommended by another user of course) I am currently trying to decide which bridge camera would be good for me, I don't want to spend the earth on a camera (yet) as I don't feel having an expensive camera and little talent will really help in the long run.
    I am looking to spend roughly 200-300 uk sterling on a camera, I must say I have trawled web sites and specs with little success of an actual decision as yet but have been highly confused, if anyone could help me out of point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Paul

As advised, I have copied your introductory post in here. Now, hopefully, more people will see it and come in with their ideas.

Real Name
    Mark Fleming

Hi Paul,

I bought a bridge camera when I finally bit the the bullet and moved over from film. I can't remember the model number or even the specs, but it was a Fujifilm. I bought it for two reasons. It was affordable as a "training" camera. And it had a Fujinon zoom lens. I didn't understand raw capture or white balance at the time, it was then that Google made the miracle and brought me here!

Here's one of the first pics I took with it, (when I went to fetch the link, I saw the model was a Fujifilm finepix S5600)

New member seeking advice on  Bridge Camera

Hope this helps a little bit mate. But I would add, get a DSLR. We're here to help you learn how to use one after all.

Real Name
    PJ