Thread: Digital Medium Format Back

Digital Medium Format Back

I am a Medium Format Photographer.
    I know, I know, there are some of us still!
    I also shoot film.
    I shoot film because I cannot afford the very high prices of the digital backs available for Medium Format.
    I like using film.
    I often read that film has a wider dynamic range in the highlights and, frankly, I wouldn't know what a wider dynamic range difference would look like if it sat on my face.
    I try to look for a cheap digital back and they all seem to be still very expensive.
    I don't want this thread to turn into a medium format vs DSLR or a film vs digital argument.
    I only want to know if there are other medium format users who are 'stuck' with film because they cannot make the leap to digital.
    Obviously, if there are any DSLR users who want to add anything, please don't feel excluded!

Real Name
    Carlos Henrique

Re: Digital Medium Format Back

I have no experience with medium format photography but it seems that Pentax is offering a very good option with lower price compared to other brands. The model is Pentax 645D (http://www.dpreview.com/products/pen...rs/pentax_645d).

Thank You Carlos.
    It appears that the digital back makers come out with newer, bigger pixel backs but the 'old and inferior' ones don't reach an acceptable level.
    I don't expect them to give the backs away for free, but I think it is rather strange to have £6,500 and still not be able to purchase a back.

Real Name
    Richard