Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: storm from afar

Real Name
    lee

storm from afar

storm from afar

saw this storm last night so i stopped and took some shots....(about 200) this one was the best

Real Name
    Tommy

Re: storm from afar

Nice capture, but it looks a little bit blurry / out of focus... Did you use a tripod?

Real Name
    lee

yea, definitely on a tripod. due to the darkness, it hard to finely tune the focus to ensure a perfect pic, usually i focus on a nearby light, but couldnt find one close enough. guess i couldve used the flash. know any other good tricks to focus at night? oh and the wind was blowing the camera strap, which must've caused the slight vibration shown by the red line in the bottom left corner(gotta remember that next time). luckily that movement doesn't usually affect the lightning being its usually as fast as a camera flash and imprints itself on the long exposure.

Real Name
    Tommy

Hey Lee,

I'm no expert at shooting lightning, I've only done it once and got a bit lucky with it....

Having looked at the EXIF data from your pic I can see that this was an 8 second exposure at f/5.6 and ISO 800.

I'm not familiar with Canon equipment as I use Nikon, but even at ISO 800 there looks to be a fair amount of noise / grain in the sky.