Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Smeared Flash Portraits

Smeared Flash Portraits

Hi, Good Morning everyone new to forums I don’t know if I’m doing this correctly.
    Help All my pictures are kind of smeared with like trailing spots

I have a problem that is really intriguing at least for me (I’m a newbie). I thought it was related to the sync between my two monolight and my Nikon D3000,when shooting the monolights optically. I thought it would be fixed buying a remote trigger with two receivers, but I just got my remotes and still has the same issue. When I use my 55 mm to 120mm all the pictures are perfect no smears. I can see two perfectly round light spot of the monolight on the model eyes. When I use my 18 to 55mm all my pictures are kind of smeared like trailing spots, unless I trigger my moonlights using my internal popup flash and set the monolights to trigger at second flash. I notice that is the shot is very close up it is look better. I will upload you the cropped eyes shots. My setting 1/125 f11 200 iso
    Thanks

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Smeared Flash Portraits

Hello Oscar (I assume that's your real name) and welcome to CiC.

Can I suggest that you post up some examples of what you're describing. That might help people to help you assess and diagnose the problem.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Oscar,

Nothing that makes sence immediately springs to mind, so anything you can post by way of pictures would be very helpful.

Welcome to CiC from me too by the way!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Oscar,

Here's how
    HELP THREAD: Guide to posting images for comment

Welcome to the CiC forums from ....

Real Name
    Chris Andrews

Kind of sounds like second curtain flash.

Hi,