Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Koehler House . San Antonio,Texas

Real Name
    Joe

Koehler House . San Antonio,Texas

I converted this shot to B&W using Paint Shop Pro X2. I am new to photography and post processing. I love all the inspiration I get here in this forum.

imgp6619b-w.jpg

I appreciate any and all C&C. Thanks, Joe
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 3rd May 2011 at 06:33 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Koehler House . San Antonio,Texas

Joe

I like this. The following comments are aimed at providing you with some thoughts for future work.

There are two aspects of this I'd comment upon:
    1) The composition and,
    2) The conversion

In terms of the composition, the first point to consider is, I think, - What is you wanted to achieve with this; i.e. What is the 'story' you wanted to tell? If, as I am guessing, this is about showing the beautiful entrance to the house, including the garden in front of it, then I think you have got very close to a winner.

I think the idea of the composition is excellent. But for me the strength is also its weakness. I'll explain.

You have developed the idea of framing the entrance with the large shrub in the right foreground and the tree on the left. However, I think it's those lower left-hand branches of the tree cutting across the entrance that are the weakness. If they weren't there, you would have a beauty. You would've had a perfect frame.

As it is (and hence my question at the top) is I'm not sure whether the main subject is the entrance-way to the house, or the garden that is in front of the house.

What to do about it - other than covertly cutting off those two or three lower right branches?