Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Finally receiving my Camera and Now......?

Real Name
    Eduardo Ribeiro

Finally receiving my Camera and Now......?

Well, finally my camera is arriving in 2 weeks. Thanks to all who helped me choose, in particular Jiro-san and Donald.

Another absolute beginner question. I've been reading a lot about Lightroom, Photoshop and others. Came across the information that I will need a RAW converting software and that when you buy the camera I'll be provided with one. Doesn't Lightroom 3 sufise? Do I need both pieces of software?

Is Lightroom somthing I can learn for myself or should I take a course (which are not at all expensive here in Brazil).

Sorry if the question seems dumb, buy I am learning to walk in what concerns to digital shooting.

Tks in advance,
    Eduardo

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Finally receiving my Camera and Now......?

Lightroom is a stand alone RAW and other formats editing software. Its interface is more suited for a direct image editing workflow. It does not have the added features of photoshop. Better buy the Photoshop CS5. Why? Because Adobe Camera RAW (or ACR as we typically call it) is basically THE SAME as adobe lightroom and its already incorporated inside photoshop CS5. The interface is a bit different but they work the same.

If you can enroll on an actual post-processing course in your locality that would be great. You can also enroll online like the kelby training online courses for versatility. I can't afford them (burned my last savings on softwares. LOL!) so I study post-processing by books and tutorials in the net. My suggestion would be - once your camera arrives, study its features and familiarize yourself with it religiously. Then when you get the hang of it that's the time you immerse yourself heavily into developing your post-processing skills. Patience is a virtue. Good luck!

Real Name
    Eduardo Ribeiro

Quote Originally Posted by jiro View Post