Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Last Deer Photo

Real Name
    Jim

Last Deer Photo

I promise this is the last.I have been practicing the selective sharpening techniques that were suggested to me on my last post.
    The original:
    Last Deer Photo

I haven't done anything to the BG.I'm still practicing cloning.
    My edit:
    Last Deer Photo

Comments please.

Regards,
    Jim

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Last Deer Photo

Sharpening wise, it looks very good to me Jim.

I'm no expert, but if you have a mask for the selective sharpening (you may not if you did it like I do ), you should be able to use the inverse of it to be sure the cloning only touches the background. Don't ask me for more on this, as it's something I have yet to accomplish, but I'm sure some of the others can help.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Jim

Dave,

I haven't started using layers yet.I used lasso tool to isolate the deer.I then did global sharpening on the deer and used sharpen tool on the eyes and the whiskers.Thanks for the suggestion on masks.
    Regards,
    Jim

looks good to me too, but again I'm not the one to ask. Adding layer mask is easiest way for me, purely because I like easy and it saves time and effort. It's as simple as clicking "add layer mask" and painting on this mask with a black or white brush (depending on whether you want that part of the masked image to show or not). The good thing is you can use various shades of white to black (I use true black rgb /true white and vary opacity to achieve this quickly and easily) brush so it's not an all or nothing effect. eg you can completely paint the background out to exclude that from sharpening and for the deer make some areas more sharp than others.