Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nightclub/band photography

Real Name
    Joe

Nightclub/band photography

I am new to photography and I have been practicing alot. I love my new hobby. I want to photograph bands in nightclubs. I have tried a few times, but with no success. Either under or over exposed. I want to know if anyone can tell me what modes, and most used settings that they use. I was shooting in manual.I tried with and without flash. Thanks, Joe

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Nightclub/band photography

Shoot with the highest ISO setting with low noise that your camera can handle (typically ISO 800 or 1600), a wide aperture that you can use (typically f1.8 to f2.8), shoot in manual mode then fire the shots. The April/May 2011 issue of the "Photoshop User" magazine discusses this in wonderful detail with lots of real life example of images. Hope this helps, Joe.

Real Name
    Joe

Thanks Jiro. I will give it a try. I wil lok for that issue. Rock On!! Joe

Real Name
    Martyn

take lots of pictures,keep shooting in manual,what i tend to do is watch where the lighting hits the performers,take a few shots with your iso at acceptable levels and your lens as wide as it can go,then do a quick check on your histograms,if your finding they are blown out then drop your iso first and if need be close your lens down a stop, stage lighting can be a nightmare but you should get a few keepers,i practice on pub bands like this shot,cheers martyn

Real Name
    Martyn

couple more points, try and get some interaction and dont worry if you get movement blur due to slow shutter (i tend to work with between 80th sec and 125th sec),cheers martyn ps pretty naff pics but i was only practicing,lol.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)