Thread: What does 'clipping' mean?

Real Name
    Graham Evans

Re: NEW MEMBER? please introduce yourself here

Hi, My name is Graham and I live in Bridge of Weir, Scotland. I'm relatively new to photography, but I'm just getting in to HDR. I'm reading a book about it and it keeps referring to clipping of the histogram. Can someone explain this to me because I'm just not getting it.
    Regards,

Graham Evans

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I've copied Graham's message across from the New Member thread, because I'm sure a lot of people who are new to photography and are looking in will be keen to understand this one as well.

And because he lives just about 30 minutes from me (well, a bit more), he gets to have his first message posted twice .... as a bonus!!
    Last edited by Donald; 8th April 2011 at 04:16 PM.

Real Name
    Jim

Hi Graham,
    Clipping
    When an image is over or under exposed, its histogram will show a concentration of pixels to the left if under exposed and to the right when over exposed. When the concentration is bunched up against the edge of the histogram, we know that significant detail has been lost in the image. This loss of detail is referred to as clipping.

Sean also has an excellent tutorial on understanding histograms.

Real Name
    Bill S

Graham,

Not sure if this will help or not... but if you're used to any kind of audio equipment, clipping is pretty much the same concept in both places. Basically it is a case where there is more signal than the hardware can handle. In audio, the hardware is usually the speakers and when a signal is clipping, you will hear those annoying pops and clicks as the speakers just basically "freak out" trying to figure out how to play a sound that just doesn't make sense. A very generic way to think of it is if the volume is too loud and the speakers just can't keep up.