Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon 5D Mk II versus 4x5 medium format

Canon 5D Mk II versus 4x5 medium format

A Canon 5D MK 11 versus 4x5 for 40x50 inch prints

I’ve been a large format photographer for 27 years and had 4 books published on my work www.wildernesslight.com. Here’s what I’m throwing out. I’ve been considering using stitching and a camera like the 5D mk2 to achieve 4x5 quality in a 40x50 inch print. And I mean a print you can stick your nose up to and say damn that’s sharp! I know one can do this with mega-mega pixel medium format but I’m not quite ready to sell body parts to get to that point. Also there area number of problems beyond price with m.f. I’ve heard countless quality problems with lenses, mis-aligned sensors, crappy cameras etc. Believe me I’m hearing this from the BEST photogs in the world. The guys who should be getting everything for free because they know what they are talking about. Example: Four Mamiya 80 mm lenses with only ONE that is sharp. Hasselblad lens literally falling apart, mis-aligned sensors..... Take note m.f. manufacturers your quality control isn’t .Claiming tolerances in the microns means consistently delivering this exacting quality. This means testing an m.f. system to death before one can be assured it is working properly. And how the hell can you test if you don’t have a comparison. I’m not interested in having to test a system costing tens of thousands of dollars. Plus the camera or the lens depending on manufacturer ends up being a big and clunky instrument. I can’t carry big and clunky 100 miles into the Alaska bush. I can’t have a lens fall apart. I can’t carry batteries for car starts.