Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: TV or Movie Photography

Real Name
    Ashish Chalapuram

TV or Movie Photography

Hi,

I just wanted to know if taking pictures of a TV show or a movie constitutes copyright infringement?

Hope to hear from you folks.

Thanks,
    Ashish

Real Name
    John

Re: TV or Movie Photography

It is if you plan to sell or distribute the images as your own.

Real Name
    Ashish Chalapuram

How about for posts on forums such as this?

Real Name
    Remco

To get a reliable answer to that one, you'd have to get a lawyer, I'm afraid (too many differences in the rules between countries for starters). I'm not a lawyer.

That said, at least in Europe, taking the pictures for your own use should be ok, the problems start when you diffuse/publish them. Editorial use (e.g. showing a pic here to illustrate a technical problem) would probably be ok as well.

Remco

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by revi View Post
    To get a reliable answer to that one, you'd have to get a lawyer, I'm afraid (too many differences in the rules between countries for starters). I'm not a lawyer.

That said, at least in Europe, taking the pictures for your own use should be ok, the problems start when you diffuse/publish them. Editorial use (e.g. showing a pic here to illustrate a technical problem) would probably be ok as well.

Remco
    If you look at the warning on every movie there is a statement that says "international agreements and national laws protect copyrighted motion pictures, videotapes, and sound recordings. Unauthorized reproduction, exhibition or distribution of copyrighted motion pictures can reulst in severe...The International Criminal Police Organization-INTERPOL has expressed its concern about motion picture and sound recording piracy, ...."