Thread: My first attempt HDR - Lotus Mahal at Hampi

Real Name
    Nagarajan

My first attempt HDR - Lotus Mahal at Hampi

Lotus Mahal at Hampi (HDR) by naga-s, on Flickr

or bigger:

This is my first attempt at HDR. I request you to provide your criticism/ suggestions on what could have been done better on:
    - composition
    - HDR tonemapping

Also I have written a detailed post on what I did (original image, tone mapping software , parameters used, post processing steps) to produce this image at my blog :
    http://www.geekytalk.snaga.net/2011/...t-attempt.html

Thanks
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 21st February 2011 at 11:36 PM. Reason: added larger image inline after Colin's complaint in post #8

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: My first attempt HDR - Lotus Mahal at Hampi

i think the way you applied the HDR effect is good and not overly done. As for the composition, you could probably applied some lens correction on the building to properly align the image vertically. A little brightness/contrast adjustment might give the image some more punch. Maybe, if I'm the one who will take another shot at this monument, I'd probably go closer and use a 16-24mm wide angle lens, stoop down, and take the shot looking upward for a more dramatic angled shot. Nice work, Nagarajan.

I like the composition, but the hdr is a bit over the top
    I see some halo's as well, it can indeed use some lens correction, but it looks ok to me
    colors are so not natural anymore, sorry not feeling this one

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Nagarajan,

To my eye it's looking more like an "ultra tone mapped" image than an HDR image (out of interest, how many shots in your exposure bracket?), but to be honest, the image is so small, it's hard to get a good look at it.

I'd suggest posting them at least 700 pixels wide.
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 21st February 2011 at 10:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    Hi Nagarajan,