Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bit depth and models space

bit depth and models space

Hello, my name is Daniel and I'm new in Digital Photography.

I'm trying to understand the bit depth per channel and models space.

I know a colour model describes the colours you can see and work in a digital image. Some examples are RGB, CMYK, HSB...

A model space is a variant of a colour model. It has a range of colours. Some examples are sRGB, Adobe RGB, ProPhoto RGB...

Having in mind the spectral colour, ProPhoto RGB can represent more colours than Adobe RGB, and Adobe RGB can represent more ones than sRGB.

On the other hand, taking the sRGB model space as an example, it uses three channels (Red, Green, Blue) to represent a colour. Each channel can have 8 bits, so in this case we will have an image of 24 bits (8 bits x 3 channels) and it can reproduce 16,7 millions of colours.

But we can have images of 48 bits (16 bits per channel) that can reproduce more colours than images of 24 bits.

I suppose Adobe RGB represents colours in the same way (Red, Green, Blue channels) so, which is the reason Adobe RGB (or ProPhoto RGB) represents more colours in the spectral colour than sRGB if, for example, I compare an image with sRGB of 48 bits and another image with Adobe RGB of 24 bits?

I appreciate any help, thank you,
    Daniel

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: bit depth and models space

Hi Daniel,

Probably the easiest way to visualise what you're asking is to think of a staircase analogy; bit depth equates to the number of steps, but doesn't have any bearing on the height of the staircase (because we don't know the vertical interval between each step).