Thread: Better Pictures on a Grey Day?

Real Name
    Dylan Morton

Better Pictures on a Grey Day?

As a complete DLSR noob, I was wondering are there any tips to producing better pictures on a dull grey British day?
    I am going out into Cambridge today armed with my new Canon 550D and was wondering how I could make any shots a little more appealing.
    Is this something you improve in post processing or are there any useful tips I can utilise to help me out when taking the picture.

Thanks.

Real Name
    Jeroen

Re: Better Pictures on a Grey Day?

Basically a grey day is far from ideal for shooting outdoors in general. And despite of any post processing the photograph has to be right in order to get a good shot. But when you have no choice there are some things you can do in post processing. As you said a grey day provides dull shots, so increasing the contrast and saturation would get it all better.

At the time of shooting what you can do is make sure to get the exposure correct and pay a lot of attention to composition. With filters you might be able the cope better with the dullness when shooting, but I reckon that would be more a bit of advanced method.

Doing the two things I mentioned above is a good way to start. When you've done your shots I advice to share some of your shots and ask than for further post processing advice. It much easier to help (and for you to learn) from a specific example.

These tutorial about curves, levels and local contrast enhancement would give you some post processing help.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by Dylan View Post
    As a complete DLSR noob, I was wondering are there any tips to producing better pictures on a dull grey British day?
    Hi Dylan,

Welcome to the CiC forums (just in case I missed that earlier).

It is an all too common problem - so why not take advantage and try shooting the kinds of scene that would be too contrasty on a sunny day?