Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Magic of light and shadows

Real Name
    Yegor

Magic of light and shadows

I need your opinion about it:

Re: Magic of light and shadows

Well purely a personal opinion, Yegor, but I don't like scenes with a large area of nothingness; especially when it is an offset area, so I would crop it.

But this sort of style appears to be becoming popular lately. Maybe I would try two different styled copies.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

You need a good play between light and shadows to create a 3-dimensional image on a 2-dimensional frame, Yegor. There's not much detail to show some perspective on this. I hate to say this but... sorry, didn't work for me this time, Yegor. Still, I should say this one is an interesting work.

Real Name
    Yegor

Thanks u... Well,i wanna try all the direction))) this is my first try.
    About the "scenes with a large area of nothingness" - I appreciate your opinion. This business of taste - here is not a rule or the law))) Crop - it will turn out really badly. Figures will leave on the foreground, and they are necessary only for an atmosphere. I did not put accent on them. Comment Jiro about unsuccessful game of light and a shadow In that case takes place. BUT, I shall not begin to stop on failure))))) Thanks for comments.

Real Name
    Raylee

Hi Yegor

I think this is worth pursuing. To me, there is an element of mystery about the lights and the blackness. I'd try cropping on the left to remove the window. Then I'd try to bring out a little bit of detail in the wall and the edge of the pier - just a little bit to tease the eye which would add to the element of the unknown.

If I were you, I'd try more shots like this. The concept appeals to me.

R

Real Name
    Jeroen

Hi Yegor,
    (large) area's of nothingness can create very strong photographs. Though the hard thing about it is that it's quite against the rules, there are barely guidelines to hold on to.