Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First real shots taken at night.

rob marshall

First real shots taken at night.

I don't know why I've never tried this before. Maybe I was worried about the bad people mugging my gear But I had my wife with me last night, so that was OK...

I only had my small tripod with me, and despite doing mirror lock-up on the camera, some of them were a little fuzzy. I found it helps to have a fairly even spread of different lights throughout the shots, as in #5.

C&C welcome. Any tips? EXIF is on the shots.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: First real shots taken at night.

I think you did a very good job on all the shots, Rob. WB is definitely hard to predict with the assorted lights available. If I were to choose among the 5 I would definitely choose #3 as the winner for me.

Real Name
    Paul

Nice Rob, I hope to do half as well when I finally make it out for some night shots. I like #3 as well but #5 is my second favorite.

All are excellent! I love the color lights and stunning reflections. With night shots (and post processing) I always find it difficult to find the right brightness - do I want it to look really dark, cause it was night, or do I want to keep the sky bright. That's why normally I prefer blue hour to the proper night. #5 would have been just average if not the blue lights that add so much to it!
    All of them look sharp to me (at least in the resolution you posted), and I know how hard it is to keep long exposures sharp. The bridge is my favorite, really stunning! And I would choose #5 as my second choice Great job!!