Thread: Understanding Lenses

Real Name
    Steph

Understanding Lenses

Hi,
    I am currently new to the world of photography but am loving it. Something I am finding hard to understand is lenses. I am currently completing an assignment and have to be able to apply different size lenses to different scenarios. This is hard as I do not fully understand how to apply different size lenses to there best suited uses. Does anyone have any information or suggestions that could help??? Thanks

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Understanding Lenses

You could try clicking the "Photography Tutorials" button on top of this page if you want. Most of the Mods prepared these materials for us newbies. Welcome to CiC, by the way.

Real Name
    Peter

Hi Steph and welcome to CiC.

How long is a piece of string? This is a very broad question and the answer is you can use any lens for any purposes but different focal length lens will change the perspective of the image.

The human eye has a field of view (i.e. your lateral vision) around 43 degrees and so the 50 mm lens has become the common lens for normal perspective (everything in relative proportion as to how you would see it in the real world).

Anything longer than that i.e. 70mm + begins to compress perspective. If you had two people standing in front of you and one was 10 feet away and another behind the first at 30 feet away and the nearest person is just 5 feet from you then the gap between them would appear large. If you know moved back 200 feet and looked again the gap would look much smaller. Nothing has changed except the camera to subject distance but the perspective (the relative distance between subjects) looks closer.

Anything less than 35mm is considered wide angle and has the opposite effect to longer lenses and pushes perspective out.