Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: New Here and need advice :)

Real Name
    Sarah

New Here and need advice :)

I just recently got my 1st great camera (Canon Rebel EOS 350 D )....in your opinion is this a good starter camera for an armature? Also am looking into a lens cover. Have read about the image quality and glare it could create and the different types. What i was wondering also is if i could get a good UV filter (Hoya multi-coated i'm leaning towards) and also a hood for extra protection? just want to make sure i am going the direction needed to protect my investment, but not be going to far as i am only beginning. thank you for your opinions Sarah....PLEASE GIVE ADVICE
    Last edited by scornish; 31st January 2011 at 06:49 PM.

Real Name
    Paul

Re: New Here and need advice :)

Hi Sarah and welcome! I think the Rebel is a fine starter for ya. You should have a lens cover with your camera, but a lens filter like the hoya is "as far as many are concerned" a must! Nearly everyone here keeps one on their camera at all times. A hood is a nice added bit of protection but also needed to cut down the glare from light coming acrossed your filter. Don't worry to much about image quality problems with the filters, a good quality filter multi coated should cause you no issues. Hope you enjoy your new camera. Lets see some photos!

What lens/lenses, Sarah?

By today's standards, the 350D is a bit 'old fashioned' and low on pixels; but most people don't need to join the 'pixel race' and the extra camera technology has been mostly about making things easier for the camera user.

So yes, that is a suitable learning camera which will force you to do (and learn) things correctly instead of just pushing buttons.

Real Name
    Richard