Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Canon 7D, or 60D, that is the question, and which lens?

Real Name
    Ken

Canon 7D, or 60D, that is the question, and which lens?

Hey folks

I've been a casual photographer for a while and am just starting to understand concepts like Depth of Focus and the like versus selecting that "auto" green box or a mode and then go. I have a Rebel Digital EOS from about 5-7 years ago with the non IS EFS 18-55. I'll be trolling these forums for suggestions on the Canon EOS 7d vs the 60d and just how much difference a f2.8 vs f4.0 lens will get me. I primarily take scenery/landscapes and like to take a panoramic picture of several shots stitched together. Ultra wides seem to get it all but it's reaaaallly tiny. Inside I'll be likely photographing pets that won't slow down or sit just right in the light.

So far I've figured out I'd like a 7D for the autofocus improvements over the 60D, the dust prevention, I Go 4x4ing in the south west dustbowl... and then add the 60D flip LCD to that and I'd be set. I haven't heard any rumors of a new 7D. Though as an upgrade I think the jump to 60D will be sufficient and it's likely better to spend the $$ saved on the glass.

See you all in the forums. Need to go find out about the EFS 2.8 17-55 and the EF 2.8 24-70 L USM or EF 4.0 24-105 L IS USM.

-Ken
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 2nd January 2011 at 11:41 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Canon 7D, or 60D, that is the question, and which lens?

Ken

Press 'Advanced Search' near the top right of the page and in the Tags window enter 'camera purchase' and/or 'lenses'. You'll the be taken to a number of threads where these subjects have been discussed previously.
    Last edited by Donald; 2nd January 2011 at 12:18 PM.

Real Name
    Brian