Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: White-Balance Chart in Canon

White-Balance Chart in Canon

I am not a pro photographer, but did have a 35 mm some time back. So I'm familiar with basic concepts like adjusting aperture or shutter speed, and I understand ISO better now that I’m using a digital camera.

I have a Canon Power Shot SX110. I see how I can change the WB settings with presets under AWB. When I take a series of pictures using different settings and then play them back using the Dist. Button to bring up the tech. information, I see Canon’s white-balance chart. I see that each image has a different chart, but I don’t know what I’m looking for in the chart.

When I compare only pictures that have good balance, I still don’t see a pattern to the charts. What can that chart tell me? Do I want a nice bell shape in the center? Do I want an equal amount of white to black throughout the graph? Or is there no template that works for all pictures?

Carroll

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: White-Balance Chart in Canon

Hi Carroll,

I'm not familiar with that particular model, but my guess is that what your seeing is the histogram, and not anything to do with white balance.

A histogram is simply a graph of how many pixels are recorded at each brightness level, which aids in judging how good the exposure was. An under-exposed shot will have the graph bunched up towards the left hand side of the graph whereas an over-exposed shot will have them bunched up towards the right, usually with a sharp spike right at the end.

As a rule of thumb (but there are exceptions) the ideal exposure is one that takes the histogram right up to the right hand side of the graph, but not beyond (as this uses the full range of sensor values - even if the image looks over-exposed on the built in screen) (you adjust the over-exposed look in post-processing later).

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

Colin - pbase.com/cjsouthern
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 12th January 2009 at 10:16 AM.