Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Pride... and Joy.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Pride... and Joy.

I am always fascinated by human emotions. While waiting for my wife to finish the groceries I talked to the greeters at the local Walmart if I can take some snapshot of them. They told me that it's not allowed and I have to ask permisssion to the manager in shift about it. Thinking that there is no harm in trying I approach the manager and told him that I am an amateur photographer studying "people at work". He told me that it is really not allowed. Being a persistent guy (me), I still tried to convince him that this is purely for photographic study and nothing else. After some verbal negotiation he told me that if the guys agree with me taking their pictures then he'll allow it but only for this time alone. With that approval I waited for that moment that both of them are smiling and before somebody blocked my shot I clicked the shutter and this is what I have captured.

Pride... and Joy.
    pride_b&w by jiro bau, on Flickr

Thank you very much for viewing.

Nikon D70, 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 lens set at 37mm, f8 at 1/15 sec handheld. Conversion to B&W inside photoshop and Silver Efex Pro.
    Last edited by jiro; 19th December 2010 at 04:26 PM.

Real Name
    Chris

Re: Pride... and Joy.

And those two epitomize Wal-Mart greeters. It would have been nice if you could have gotten rid of some of the background clutter, but it too is so Wal-Martish that it's not terribly bothersome. I like that you added some grain to the shot to further emphasize their "age." I love shots like this..one, they are so Americana, and two they are just fun to look at.

Real Name

Glad you liked them, Chris.

Real Name
    Gareth

you mean these guys are employed to say hello and give you a shopping trolley!!? Being from the uk thats not something ive heard of before. Oh, and how often do the damn trolleys actually go in a straight line? lol

Real Name
    Chris