Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New camera

New camera

Hello!

I'm new to the reflex camera scene.
    I was just wondering, is the Nikon D5000 an easy way to start taking pictures?
    Or would it be too hard to handle..
    I saw a great deal and I allmost bought it, but I wasn't sure..
    It looks kinda hard..

I hope to hear from you guys soon,

Thank in advance!

Real Name
    Mike Bareham

Re: New camera

Hi Veritas (first name?)
    The D5000 is a great camera and will serve you well.
    The problem with all technology today is that it inevitably has more features than you will ever need, but don't forget that all but the professional cameras will have an 'auto' setting to get you started. From there you can build your confidence and learn the other settings.
    I would take the plunge and start taking photos. Read as much as you can about the skills involved. You may be assured of a long lasting and rewarding hobby ahead.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi there 'veriitas' (is that your name?),

I have a D5000 and it, like 99% of DSLRs has; Scene modes (like a P&S), Auto and Program modes, plus Shutter and Aperture priority semi-auto modes and manual.

Additionally, it has an enhanced help system over many cameras.

So I would say it makes an excellent starter camera.

I almost forgot my manners; so I'll sign off with a "welcome to the CiC forums from ...."

I think it depends on which kind of pictures you are going to take and where.
    (portraits, landscapes, wildlife...?)
    Depending on that you'll have to choose a lens.
    Remember that the most important part is not a camera, it is a lens.

Hey!

To start off, my real name isn't veriitas haha.
    It's Ozkan..
    Thanks for your quick reply and for welcoming me!
    It's actually a gift for my girlfriend (ofcourse I will be using it too, maybe more then her haha!).
    She would likely take pictures of me playing basketball, us two on vacation and scenery.
    Basicly everything.