Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: NEW MEMBER? Please Introduce Yourself Here

Re: NEW MEMBER? Please Introduce Yourself Here

Hallo everyone from Thessaloniki , Greece . An amateur photographer for many years still in learning mode . Following this site long ago . Regards , Haralabos Nelkos .

I'm new to this forum, but I've been doing photography since I was around 8 years old, first with a box camera, and then my father's 35mm Contax II camera. I've been "doing" photography ever since, both for myself, for various magazines, and for places I worked at. My forum "home" lately has been the DxO PhotoLab forums, mostly here:
    https://feedback.dxo.com/t/off-topic...lab/29437/2457
    My website/gallery is https://m.smugmug.com

For as long as I can remember, I've been into 'photojournalism', and very little "art" photography which this forum seems to specialize in. I'd like to learn more.

As I posted in the PhotoLab forum, I don't know whether my attempts at are are comparable to my nephew's way of seeing, since he is colorblind, or that I've just focused on one thing for so long, I never got into "art".

My cameras are mostly Nikon DSLR, lately my D780 and Df, and my Leica rangefinder cameras. I've got more, lots more, but 99% of my photography is with the Nikons. Everyone in the PhotoLab forum tells me to dump the Df, and stick with the newer and more powerful Nikon, but the Df is something special to me - always has been. I've got no desire to switch over to "mirrorless".

I like the photos I create, but I'm told that they are too much "photojournalism" and therefore boring. I guess I'm mostly here to learn about the artistic side of photography. Maybe I can learn to improve. I guess that's why I joined this forum.

Quote Originally Posted by mikemyers View Post
    ...My forum "home" lately has been the DxO PhotoLab forums, mostly here...