Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: pelicans

pelicans

my first post!

I'm a new photographer and find this site to be gold. I've been talking to people and wandering around the net for some good explanations about what is going on in my camera and here it seems well laid out. So thanks to all who contribute!

Here a a few pictures. I have my opinions about them and would like to know what trained eyes think.

I did some post processing on this one. I wanted the yellow on the birds' heads to pop, so I increased exposure. For the rock, it was originally black. I wanted to see some detail. I forgot what I did, but got some detail out of it.
    In messing with the image, there was a side effect Im not too sure about. Looking at the histogram I find that each r, g, and b has a distinct peak. I feel this can't be good given that there is a high level of contrast between each color. So what are your thoughts?
    pelicans
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3111/...ed3376.jpg?v=0

The second,
    pelicans
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3220/...dcde5a.jpg?v=0
    Last edited by sbartell; 30th December 2008 at 01:21 AM.

Real Name
    Matt Fannin

Re: pelicans

I would like to see the pictures but it seems you must have attached them wrong

Ok, Ive updated the images to come through as links. I can also right click on the 'question mark' and select open in new window. This goes to my flickr account. Maybe I should look into finding a server that allows larger images

-sb

Real Name
    Matt Fannin

For me, its not really about all the graphs and data,
    I tend to just take a pic and edit until I am happy with the result.
    For me, Histograms etc can be useful when you have a picture that has problem areas and your not sure why they are occurring.

So I wouldn't really worry, the pic looks great

The second image however, looks almost as though the sky is a little to under-exposed?