Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Help me choose a DSLR please

Real Name
    Doug

Help me choose a DSLR please

Needless to say I am a novice looking to move into the world of photography of my granddaughter's advancement in Volleyball as well as my favorite vacation destination, Boundary Water Canoe Area in Minnesota.
    I want to purchase a DSLR camera to capture the team in action either as a team or full body individual shots.. Some short video may be necessary, but not as important. At this point I have to sit 35 feet from the action but hope with a little experience I can persuade those who control the arenas that I can move closer.
    I have been advised by a friend to deal with KEH. He photos many "Dead" -ish concerts. I'd like to stay around $1500 for body and lenses new or used at this juncture.
    I look forward to hearing from those of you with obvious more exposure than I possess.
    Oldguyokiehomer
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 25th November 2010 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Copied question from intro thread

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Help me choose a DSLR please

Hello there (I assume Dave asked, in the Intro thread, if you'd like to give us a real name).

I suppose the first question to ask is whether you want a consumer or a 'pro-sumer' level body. The latter being more expensive. That decision will, of course, then influence how much you've got left over for lenses and accessories.

To reach that decision, I think you need to do some research. One of the most important elements in that will be going into a store and handling the cameras and see what feels right for you. You'll also want to explore what features they have. The prosumer bodies tend to be bigger, more robustly built and have features that the consumer bodies don't. Some people also feel that the bigger body 'fits' better into their hands.