Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Macro focus v auto focus

Real Name
    Catherine

Macro focus v auto focus

Today I had birds feeding out of my hand and I was trying to take pictures of them. I’m new to photography so I’m trying to learn the best approaches. I took some photos using autofocus and some using macrofocus. The results were about the same with both - nothing great, too blurry, but not ridiculously bad either. Of course I couldn’t stabilize the camera well because one hand had a bird in it but I am sure that I could improve the stabilization. What I wonder is whether one approach has more potential than the other should I give it more time. Thank you for your time.

Real Name
    John

Re: Macro focus v auto focus

Catherine,

What lens and what is the closest focusing distance for AF? Shutter speed used is also something to consider so include camera settings used for the shot.

Real Name
    Dan

I don't know your camera, but on most cameras of that ilk that have a macro option, it differs from regular AF only in that it allows somewhat closer focusing. It still has a limit as to how close you can be, which you will have to look up in your manual. Apart from the ability to focus closer, all the usual stuff still applies--focusing on the right point, having a sufficient depth of field and shutter speed, etc.

Real Name
    Catherine

John, The closest focusing distance for my camera (Nikon P900) for AF is 50cm (1ft 8in) and the birds were a few inches further than that. The shutter speed was 1/500s. It seemed to me from the manual that either selection was acceptable but I don't know the physics of what happens with macro as opposed to AF at this distance. Perhaps the camera was doing exactly the same focusing in this case?

This photo is typical. I need to improve because the models sure were cute.
    Macro focus v auto focus
    Last edited by CatherineA; 17th November 2017 at 01:10 AM.

Real Name
    Catherine

Thank you Dan!

Real Name
    John