Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: shutter speed v. ISO

Real Name
    Catherine

shutter speed v. ISO

I am new to photography but working on improving. I took bird photos today in Shutter Mode Priority. Some photos were shot at 1/320s with an ISO of 400, and others at 1/1000s with an ISO of 800. Looking at the photos on my computer screen, both produced acceptable results. My question is, is would an experienced photographer perhaps see details that I am missing and perhaps always take one approach over the other. Thank you

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: shutter speed v. ISO

Quote Originally Posted by CatherineA View Post
    I am new to photography but working on improving. I took bird photos today in Shutter Mode Priority. Some photos were shot at 1/320s with an ISO of 400, and others at 1/1000s with an ISO of 800. Looking at the photos on my computer screen, both produced acceptable results. My question is, is would an experienced photographer perhaps see details that I am missing and perhaps always take one approach over the other. Thank you
    The answer is "it depends" and I am going to simplify things quite a bit in my response.

Higher shutter speed will reduce the risk of motion blur in an image, so depending on a number of factors, choosing a higher shutter speed will tend to be important, especially at longer focal lengths (i.e. when you zoom into the subject).

On the opposite end, the highest sensor quality (dynamic range, colour depth and digital noise) are all better at the lowest ISO setting of your camera.

As a photographer you have to determine how you trade off these two variables to give you the best result for give shooting conditions.

The third variable is aperture and I won't get into that right now, but it is the combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO that give you the "correct" exposure.