Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A newbie needs some help - compact camera purchase decisions

A newbie needs some help - compact camera purchase decisions

Hello,

I'm a brand new member of CiC and it would be great to get some advice from some other compact/bridge camera users. I've just spent the last couple of hours reading the incredibly helpful tutorials on this site and I'm already embarrassed about my ignorance so please forgive any bloopers!

I've had a Panasonic TZ3 for about 3 years now and it has done stirling work, at least as far as my needs are concerned. I'm an architecture student and much to the annoyance of friends and relations I spend most of my time taking photographs of buildings, inside and out. Equipped with a 'zip-shot' tripod I can set the shutter speed to 8 seconds and get some pretty good photographs in pretty dark churches. Its 28mm lens also means I can get things in that I otherwise wouldn't be able to, large piazzas, the height of a gothic cathedral etc.

In the last month or so, however, I've been getting an itch, started by a display of photographs by other students in my class. Granted it didn't help that one of them had a Hasselblad and most were using dSLRs, I got distinct camera envy!

Since then I have looked at so many cameras I have become totally indecisive. I stuck with Panasonic to begin with, looking at the newer TZ8 and 10, the LX3 and 5, contemplating the FZ series and even considering taking a big leap into the micro four-thirds system. In the last couple of days however my eyes have been diverted by Fuji's S200EXR, particularly its system of boosting dynamic range. The narrower lense (30mm) and the great size and weight stand against it though.

While I've heard great things about the LX cameras I have become rather attached to my zoom, 10x on the TZ3. It's very useful for details on buildings a great distance away, and also for minimising distortion in images of elevations by standing back and zooming in.