Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Which lens would be best for a beginner in macro photography?

Which lens would be best for a beginner in macro photography?

I'm a photo student, just got my first DSLR (Nikon D90), and want to start out in macro photography. Out of these two lenses, which would be best for me? (Or please suggest something in a similar price range). Thanks!

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-50mm-Nik...8104659&sr=8-2

http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-70-300mm...8104659&sr=8-6

Real Name
    Remco

Re: Which lens would be best for a beginner in macro photography?

Strictly speaking, neither of these two is a macro lens (i.e. gives an image at 1:1 magnification).

That said, the Sigma goes to 0.5x magnification (a 2 cm subject will take about 1 cm on the sensor) at 300mm. Also, the working distance is quite comfortable (95 cm closest focussing, with a 50mm you would be working at about 15-20 cm), and allows you to approach insects and small animals a bit easier. As the 50 mm has a closest focus at 45 cm, it would give a magnification of about 1/6th, or 0.15 (very coarse estimate).

I'm still saving for a real macro lens myself, as I haven't seen one under about 500€. Until then the Sigma satisfies me. Do keep in mind that you are working close-up with a 300 mm lens, so short shutter times or tripod are mandatory (and as it is a F5.6 lens, short shutter times often mean high ISO...).

This is a commonly asked question; and the standard answer is 'It depends on what you want to photograph'.

But remember, as Remco said, any good quality true macro lens will be expensive.

You can get away with a smaller lens for flowers or most inanimate objects where you can get really close, but live insects are a different matter.

Before getting a true macro lens I used a Canon 70-300 plus a 25 mm extension tube to get a little bit closer, and the results were tolerable. But only when used on a tripod in good light.