Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Adobe Camera Raw

Real Name
    Joe Watterson

Adobe Camera Raw

Hello ladies and gentlemen - I haven't been seen in these parts for quite some time; nonetheless it has been reassuring to know all along that you are here when I have a question - which I do.

Although I am not a beginner, many of you are more accomplished than I. So this will look like a dumb question to some. What, exactly, is Adobe Camera Raw? I have been using a stand-alone copy of Lightroom for years, keeping it updated as updates come along. When I use Lightroom to import raw files from my camera am I using Adobe Camera Raw? Is is a part of Lightroom? Or is it a separate program or plug-in. What the heck is it? I've Googled it and searched in CIC, spending maybe two hours trying to figure it out. How does it compare to other programs designed to import raw files? TIA -

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Adobe Camera Raw

Great question, Joe!

Adobe Camera Raw is a plug-in to Adobe Photoshop in all its various forms except Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. It automatically loads when the user opens a raw file using one of the Photoshop programs other than Lightroom.

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom uses the same engine as Adobe Camera Raw. That explains why no plug-in is used when opening raw files in Lightroom. Only the user interface that controls the various settings is different.