Real Name
    David

Re: Verry verry long exposure time

Hi Aldo - Good find.

David

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

That's nearly as long as some of Colins.

Real Name
    Jason

Hey I guess I'm still a noob but how do you get a camera to do such a long exposure. My d90 only goes to 30 seconds, do you need the remote shutter release?

Fantastic photo by the way I remember seeing some more of his work on another website. I would never have the patience to wait for a picture like that.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Don't miss the "More Pinholes" link down the bottom of the page either.

Well found Aldo

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by Rhoads238 View Post
    Hey I guess I'm still a noob but how do you get a camera to do such a long exposure. My d90 only goes to 30 seconds, do you need the remote shutter release?
    Jason

If you give it one turn beyond 30 secs, does it say 'bulb'? I think the D90 should, but the Nikonites can come in and confirm. That's the setting. And then you need a tripod and cable release. These usually have a means of locking the shutter open. So you can sit in the house/car whilst the shutter remains open. You just need to remember to go back and close the shutter after the requisite time.

ps - Have you noticed how the letters 'u' and 'i' are next to each other on the keyboard. Was very nealry very embarrasing until I double-checked the typing above.

Real Name
    Peter

Quote Originally Posted by Donald View Post
    Jason

If you give it one turn beyond 30 secs, does it say 'bulb'? I think the D90 should, but the Nikonites can come in and confirm. That's the setting. And then you need a tripod and cable release. These usually have a means of locking the shutter open. So you can sit in the house/car whilst the shutter remains open. You just need to remember to go back and close the shutter after the requisite time.