Thread: HDR first attempt

Real Name
    Gary Cantwell

HDR first attempt

This is my first attempt at HDR. My intension was to take 3 pictures, all with different exposures.
    But on the day I went down to the site, it was too windy ( the flags were moving).
    So I did it in PS with one image.
    C&C welcome

HDR first attempt

Real Name
    John

Re: HDR first attempt

It would be interesting to see the original image.

What HDR software would you have Used? I have found that the strong deghosting in Photomatics is very effective.

John

Real Name
    Gary Cantwell

Below is the original (uncropped), the exposure slider set at zero in Photoshop, the other two images the exposure slider was set at +2 and -2 respectively. Then merged in Photoshop.
    I did the very basic with HDR in Photoshop (still a beginner in PS), but will try your tip.

HDR first attempt

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

To be honest Gary, I don't see anything there that wouldn't respond better to simple judicious use of the Highlights and Whites sliders, along with a decent White Balance, some Clarity and the usual Shadows, Blacks, etc.

Good correction, in the first, of lens and aiming errors though.

HTH, Dave

PS
    I assume you shot at that time because of the sun angle and the shadows cast by the coping stones atop the brick wall.

Real Name
    John

I agree with Dave. With the possible exception of the clouds there isn't really anything in the shot that needs it.

There is nothing wrong with using the technique as it can be much quicker than some other methods but attention needs to be given to what is shown best in the exposures taken from the raw file. I'd think that often all that will be needed from a single raw file is 2 exposures at settings to suit the shot not plus or minus specific values.