Thread: File Size of TIFF vs PSD etc.

Real Name
    Dan

File Size of TIFF vs PSD etc.

For years I used Nikon software for RAW conversion and PS Elements as my primary editor. A long time ago I did some tests and satisfied myself that saving in PSD format resulted in smaller file sizes than TIFF. So I've been using PSD as my preferred format for several years. A couple of years ago when I started using LR for conversion and ON1 as editor, I simply continued generating PSD files. One exception is when merging files into panos. Until recently I used Hugin and generated TIFF files. Now the latest version of LR has improved as a merging tool so I've been using it for simplicity sake, It generates DNG files.

So... today I was doing some work cleaning up the HD on my computer and noticed PSD files substantially larger than TIFF files of the same pano image. So I ran a little test. Using LR I exported various formats from the same NEF file that was shot with a D810. Here are the results:

NEF(original): 39MB
    DNG: 37MB
    TIFF: 212 MB
    PSD: 212 MB

Then I opened the TIFF and PSD in ON1 and saved them again without making any edits. The file sizes changed as follow:

TIFF: 282MB
    PSD: 565MB

These file sizes are insane! Anyhow, I was wondering if anyone else has done any work on comparing file sizes and if so what did you come up with?

Real Name
    Philippe

Re: File Size of TIFF vs PSD etc.

I noticed this when my HD happens to be full...and I can't save more file . All the pictures (originally around 20 MB-Nikon D7100) after editing in On1 and saving in PSD "smart editing" were huge >200 up to 500 MB. The same (a bit less) if saving in TIFF. Since I don't use more the "smart PSD" editing.
    PhilT

Real Name
    George

Quote Originally Posted by NorthernFocus View Post