Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where to go next?

Real Name
    Viv

Where to go next?

Hello ...as a novice I believe have have almost mastered my trusty Nikon D3100 ... and achieved the odd photo which I like even if nobody else does I have now made the leap of faith and don't tend to shoot in AUTO. I like taking images of most subjects ...landscape, animals, people, buildings ..and have no real desire to focus on any specific style.

I have a few Nikon lenses and so want to stay with Nikon, but my question is where to go next? I was thinking about a D5300/5500 and from a budget perspective thought the D5300 would be a better buy. Then again with Christmas coming along I thought I could treat myself and go D7200.

Every time I sit down and try and decide on a particular model ...I end up changing my mind ...so any advice welcome. I thought I was indecisive ..but now I just don't know

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Where to go next?

First question Viv - If you feel you have almost mastered the D3100 and are just moving off Auto ...... Why do you want to change the camera?

What is it you want from a new camera body that you cannot get or do with the D3100?

ps - It's great to have you here, I hope you enjoy being part of the forum.
    Last edited by Donald; 3rd September 2016 at 10:05 AM.

Real Name
    Robin

Until you can quantify and put clearly into words how your current camera is actually holding you back then I would stick with it and keep learning.

The D5xxx and the D7xxx bodies do offer more in the way of features but you don't need them you might just be throwing money away.

Real Name
    John

Hi Viv,