Thread: Dealing with a noisy bird picture

Real Name
    Wendy

Dealing with a noisy bird picture

Ok we'll see if even a bad picture is worth a thousand words. This is a huge crop of a shot that was not focused to well to begin with, but maybe it's enough.

Last edited by Dave Humphries; 31st August 2010 at 06:45 AM. Reason: Moved posts to more appropriate place

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Egret (I think)

Hi Wendy,

How's this?

of course, now I have to write the thousand words on what I did

It doesn't bear too close a scrutiny, but from a distance I think it's better

It took a while and I haven't eaten yet, back later ...

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    It took a while and I haven't eaten yet, back later ...
    OK it's later ...

I asked Wendy if I could have a go at the RAW on this as I have some self inflicted experience rescuing huge crops of fuzzy, noisy birds!

Here as promised, is roughly what I did;
    Open NEF in ACR (as supplied with Elements 8 (so I only have 2 tabs)
    Temp 5950 and Tint +15 (As Shot)
    Hit "Auto"
    Exp +0.85 (not changed from Auto)
    Recovery 35 (Changed from Auto)
    Fill Light 0 (not changed from Auto)
    Blacks 0 (Changed from Auto)
    Brightness +48 (not changed from Auto)
    Contrast +24 (not changed from Auto)

Straightened image - here's a tip for relection shots for when you don't have a good horizon, just like you don't get on a lake or slow river; I used the ACR straighten tool, but using the Ctrl key because vertical, and drew the line between the tip of the beak on the bird and the same point on its reflection. If the water is level, and it usually is this must be true vertical. Finding the widest point across a ripple circle (e.g. from a dropped stone) is another way to find a true horizontal on still water. But I digress ...

Clarity, Vibrance, Saturation; all 0 (because I want to remove noise first with Neat Image in Elements)