Thread: Nikon D300S Card Slot Choice.

Nikon D300S Card Slot Choice.

I have acquired a Nikon D300S to complement my D200. I am new to digital photography having used Canon F1 and Canon A1 35 mm for the last 30 years. The D300S has a CF card slot and an SD card slot. Which would you use as priority card and specifically why? Thank you, Trevor

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Nikon D300S Card Slot Choice.

In general I prioritize the CF slot as these cards have faster read / write speed. I tend to use the SD card only when the CF card is full.

Real Name
    Alexander Vayionis

I sapose it has firstly to do with the quality of the cards you`ll use. Fast cards cost, the photographic ones load your photos faster. The CF `s are known to have bigger capasity therfore are used for video (I don`t know the D300S capabilyties).
    My D800 has the same two card slots, I use as a primary the SD one cause my laptop has a SD slot too, in that way I can take the files even when I couldn`t tether my camera with the laptop.
    I guess is mainly a mater of personal convinience.
    P.S.
    Always read the manual of your camera first, I bought an expencive one with bigger capasity that my camera was able to deal with, I use it without any problem till now but I never load it to the end of it`s capabilyties.

Cheers

Alex.

Real Name
    Robin

Sold mine recently but I had five years of fantastic service so you should have fun. As Manfred said if speed is the absolute priority use CF cards - if you're not going to be using it flat out and don't need the buffer cleared immediately then you may find SD cards easier to deal with as most computers have a SD slot you can bung it straight in.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Quote Originally Posted by AllEx View Post
    The CF `s are known to have bigger capasity therfore are used for video (I don`t know the D300S capabilyties)..