Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Product Photography Help!

Real Name
    Zak

Product Photography Help!

Hi Everybody,

I recently started an Etsy shop to sell my custom bow wrist slings. I've never done product photography before and figured I'd see what your guys thoughts were on these images. I've post a few pics below but if you want to see them on my Etsy shop I've posted the link below. Any pointers would be appreciated!

-Zak

https://www.etsy.com/shop/BuckSlings?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Photo #1

Photo #2

Photo #3

Photo #4

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Product Photography Help!

Those are better than a lot of product photos made to sell product.

The most important suggestion I can make is to make the shadows softer (with less of a defined edge). You can do that by moving your light source as close as possible to the subject and/or placing diffusion material between the light source and the subject.

The compositions on your website that have less negative space above the subject are more appealing to my eye. Even so, consider cropping to display as little negative space as possible in all of the photos.

This is an example of both soft shadows and less negative space.

It's important to render the colors accurately so you don't have any complaints from customers after receiving the product that it's a different color than as advertised. You could use this product to help ensure color accuracy. I haven't ever had a need to use it but its reputation is excellent.

Real Name
    Zak

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Buckley View Post
    Those are better than a lot of product photos made to sell product.

The most important suggestion I can make is to make the shadows softer (with less of a defined edge). You can do that by moving your light source as close as possible to the subject and/or placing diffusion material between the light source and the subject.